Honey hole

DCIM100MEDIADCIM100MEDIAYesterday evening I returned to a nearby catch-and-release lake that stocks largemouth bass, catfish and bluegills. I have dubbed it Gopher Hole, and first went there when I started fly-fishing several years ago. Unlike then, I actually catch fish now because I actually know what the hell I’m doing. At least that’s what I like to think.

DCIM100MEDIADCIM100MEDIAShortly before I left, I received a custom rod I bought from a gentleman with a penchant for bamboo rods. It’s a 9-foot, 5-weight Rainshadow blank that has a moderate-fast action and a rattan grip. I took it with me and landed a big bluegill and two bass before darkness set in.  In the morning I had fished the Carlsbad pond and, for the first time, gotten skunked. My body ached from fishing all day, but it felt good to dip honey at last.

Leave a comment